Operation Get It Together

Just another WordPress.com site

The Art of Justification February 4, 2011

Another not so great day.

I did good eating, said no to Chipotle and a Hershey kiss, but didn’t do so hot with the gym. In all fairness, I didn’t know they closed at 7.

But I am a little embarrassed at the justifications I chugged out in my head. Listen to this…

So I’m sitting at the dining room table with my spread of textbooks and assignments. I was playing catch up from my first week back in class. I was concentrating so much on my eating and gym time, that I had neglected my school work. It was about 6:15 p.m. and I was seriously contemplating not going to gym. One, I didn’t feel like going back out into the cold, brisk night air, and two, I truly did have a lot of work to do. I still have a lot of work to do. But what’s one hour out of my night?

Well, maintenance came earlier today to fix our bathroom. Long story short, this stuff on the shower wall has to be dry for 24 hours. No showers.

I can’t go to the gym if I’m not gonna be able to shower!

A reasonable argument. The next one, not so much.

If I don’t sit here and get some of this school work done then my grades will suffer. And if my grades suffer and my knowledge takes a hit, then I won’t land as good a job. And I need to take this time to study, so I can land a good job, so I can afford a nice gym membership where I don’t have to wait in lines! And shoes just for the gym! Or maybe my own little gym! And I can pay someone to teach me how to make healthy food taste amazing!

……..I’m not making this up people. I guess this is where day 5 puts you.

Delusional.

After “thinking” it over, I decided to look up the hours where I then saw they were going to be closing soon. So much for that.

If I end up getting the apartment to myself later then I’ll do some workout video we have laying around so I don’t feel so bad about skipping the gym. Food went well though!

  • Breakfast:     2 Eggs, multi-grain toast with peanut butter, half of a grapefruit
  • Snack:            Strawberries
  • Lunch:           Grilled Chicken Salad
  • Snack:            Cheese Stick
  • Dinner:          Chicken breast, cauliflower, broccoli, and black eye peas

Still working on getting that water in. I’m hoping more water will help me feel fuller and fight those temptations. So that tonight, for example, when I’m making dinner and my roommate pops a hot pocket in the microwave, the enticing aroma won’t make me weak in the knees, …or stomach?

I added a list of goals I want to accomplish throughout this program. I’ll be adding more as I feel more ambitious and crossing things off as I go. I think I’m ready to cross off the third! Don’t judge!

Lets not forget everyone, that tomorrow means my first treat meal!

Who’s excited?

This girl!

 

3 Responses to “The Art of Justification”

  1. rachel Says:

    your reasons for not going to the gym seem valid.. you need to get your schoolwork done! don’t beat yourself up over it. you will reach your goal.


Leave a comment